Room 9 on the Gaslight: #1 Harley’s Diary

     New year, fresh start, maybe things can be ok. It’s not like everyone in this town are completely insane. It’s not like we’ve been trying to get far away from here ever since mother dearest moved us here 2 years ago. Alright let me explain. Appleblossom is an absolutely torturous place to be. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those whiny high school brats. I’m in my first year at college, so I’m not technically a whiny high school brat. It’s just so weird here. 

On my first day of class this year, they handed everyone a long ass list of rules. We’re fucking adults here and they’re gave us a bunch of stupid rules.

  1. No Running
  2. No talking
  3. Only outfits acceptable are: A,B,C, or D
  4. Only colors allowed are: black, grey, white, or beige
  5. No eye contact
  6. No bad language
  7. No tardies
  8. No excuses
  9. Do not step foot on restricted school premises

    And so on and so on and so on. This is college for crying out loud. The high school didn’t even have this many rules. That being said, it was on the outskirts of town. No one in this rotten place had any power there. Jean, my best friend, said that she was told that kids that break the rules tend to disappear. I don’t know if that’s true, but it wouldn’t surprise me.

I swear, this is the weirdest town in existence. Every year the local farmer holds a contest to see which new young lad is gonna get the special privilege of working on his long time family owned farm. And every year two young boys mysteriously go missing during the contest.

     The librarian accidentally told me that underneath the library grounds is a sex slave ring. She says she’s tried to stop it, but she’s mysteriously loaded despite earning very little at the library. Trust me, I work there. I’ve seen how much everyone gets paid. She surely doesn’t make enough at that place. 

I’m pretty sure the school drugs the “problem students.” They always go to detention one day and around a week later they somehow have a complete change of heart and are super focused on bettering the community. 

It’s no surprise that Renee is desperate to get out of here. She’s got a plan and I’m right there behind her. Pushing for every change we get to leave. 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

